BenefitsAdvice
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Interview Participants Needed for Universal Credit Research

2 posters

Go down

Interview Participants Needed for Universal Credit Research Empty Interview Participants Needed for Universal Credit Research

Post by Digital Benefits Mon May 11, 2020 2:32 pm

** I have spoken to the Admin of this forum before posting to ensure this was ok to post **

Hello everyone,

My name is Ellena, I'm a PhD researcher at the University of Southampton, and I'm researching how the digitisation of benefits in the UK with respect to Universal Credit has affected people.

As a lot of you will know, before UC many aspects of the benefits system were not digitised, as people still used paper job journals, paper or telephone benefit applications and so on. With UC, all claims are now "digital by default", meaning new claims are made and administered online, except in extreme circumstances where a telephone application can be made. Job searches online are now a default expectation from DWP, as is checking and receiving messages with online journals. With such expectations come obvious challenges and issues for claimants, such as lack of access to Internet-enabled devices, costs of keeping Internet connected, and lack of digital skills. However, there may also be aspects of the digitisation which have worked well for people, such as the online aspect making claims more convenient.

I'm looking for people who are either currently or have in the past claimed Universal Credit who would be willing to participate in an interview to talk about their experiences of the digital aspect of UC in particular. I'd be incredibly grateful to anyone who would be willing to take part, as COVID19 has made recruiting people for interviews (and doing the interviews) extremely difficult.

Please let me know if you have any questions and I'll do my best to answer them. : )

Kind regards,

Ellena