BenefitsAdvice
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

On-line Issues

4 posters

Go down

On-line Issues Empty On-line Issues

Post by Non Deficere Thu Dec 21, 2017 6:27 pm

Hi there,

Insidious /on-line/Cyber Bullying

Just wondering if anyone here has been subjected to any form of bullying or, can anyone offer advice to counter on-line harassment/bullying?

Many thanks for any advice/support!

Last edited by Non Deficere on Sun Jan 14, 2018 5:09 pm; edited 3 times in total
Non Deficere
Non Deficere

Back to top Go down

On-line Issues Empty Re: On-line Issues

Post by Caker Thu Dec 21, 2017 7:06 pm

I remember that case. I remember how contrite the forum members were afterwards.

I have no other experiences to compare. I hope someone will pipe up if they have any advice to share.
Caker
Caker

Back to top Go down

Post by Absolut Fri Dec 22, 2017 9:24 am

http://n-continuum.blogspot.co.uk/2014/03/cybertrolls-and-trolling-just-doin-it.html

What should I do if I think I am being stalked or harassed online?

1- Tell the person harassing you in straight forward terms, "Leave me alone, stop harassing me. Do not contact me again." If you are in IM or chat, log off immediately and stay off-line for at least 24 hours.

2- Do not reply to anything else the harasser says. No replies to emails, taunts or lies said about you. Do NOT REPLY! Harassment is a form of power over you. If you take that power away from the harasser and refuse to "play their game" then you have become empowered instead. You are now in charge!

3- If the problem only exists in IM or chat, go off-line and completely change your online identity. This means changing your nickname and all the information you have listed in your profile. Everything must be changed!

4- In the case of email harassment you need to contact the harasser's ISP (Internet Service Provider) and make a complaint.

5- Stay out of problem chat rooms.